Walkin’ on Sunshine

IMG_0226

I’m two months and one week into my sobriety journey today! Every day gets a tiny bit easier. It surprises me at times because alcohol is so pervasive – it’s in the grocery store, on television, movies, Facebook, tshirts, socks! I’m learning to take it at face value – as a prop and nothing more.

My Diet Coke habit has crept back and that worries me a little. If I cave there, might I cave elsewhere? I’m remaining diligent and that’s really all I can do. Worrying over it won’t help – continuing to work on the “stuff” that led me down that road WILL.

One thing that’s on my mind lately is a book called Solve For Happy, by Mo Gawdat. My parents (and likely yours too) said the way to happiness was to get an education, a good job and a good man (or woman, as the case may be). Gawdat says we have it backwards – that we should find happiness first and the rest will follow.

To that end, I’m working on a list of the things that make me happy, the idea being to infuse my life with more happy-making experiences and let the rest work itself out. A mighty tall order for a worry-wart like me, but here’s my list so far:

  • being outside – hiking, picnics, breakfast on the patio
  • spending quality time with people I love – cooking a meal together, watching a movie, chatting about everything and nothing, creating something fun
  • making time and space for self care – exercise, healthy eating, reading a good book, journaling
  • learning – books, classes, new experiences, long conversations
  • kindness – random or deliberate, given & received, planned or accidental
  • travel – near and far, new places and a fresh perspective on old places too, with a friend or on my own

I have a sticker on my car that reads, “Pursue Good Stuff.” I think that’s what it all boils down to. I’ve spent a good portion of my life pursuing all the trappings of a “good life,” as defined by my elders. In sobriety, I’m finally beginning to pursue a “happy life,” as defined by me.

Leave a Reply

